Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Bug when editing description/etc, then saving

Bug when editing description/etc, then saving 4 years 7 months ago #1

  • jimbo1qaz
  • jimbo1qaz's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 2
BUG: Let's say I open a soundfont and immediately change the description. I can't save, because Polyphone didn't register my changes to the undo history.
- If I change sf2 name, Enter, Tab, or clicking another textbox will allow saving.
- If I change description, only clicking another textbox will allow saving.
- Saving should be allowed as soon as I type something.

BUG: Let's say I first make a random edit (to enable saving), then edit the sf2 description and immediately press Ctrl-S (a common action). The changes were never committed as an undo step, and are lost when saving.
- Polyphone should not lose user input.

Less severe bug: If I edit a sample textbox or an instrument/preset table box, don't click out, and save (a very uncommon action), the changes are not applied. But at least they're not thrown away.

Note: Text fields have a separate undo history, so Polyphone doesn't need to commit changes into undo history, until you unfocus the text box.

Possible bug: If I've focused a text box, I can't undo global history. Maybe this is intentional.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Bug when editing description/etc, then saving 4 years 7 months ago #2

  • Davy
  • Davy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Organ enthusiast and creator of Polyphone
  • Posts: 346
  • Thank you received: 86
The interface of Polyphone is made of several fields (text boxes, cells, ...) and the global undo / redo is updated every time a data changed in the soundfont. This change occurs during the validation of the field which is during the "unfocus" event as you described.

Here is what could be implemented:
  • when we start editing a field (text box or a cell in a table) the save button is enabled,
  • when we use the save button, the focus is removed so that every changes are taken into account.

Local undo / redo will however remain for the text boxes.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.051 seconds
Cron Job Starts